Heavenly Morning Coffee and the Australian Butt Dance

This morning I was treated to a traditional Australian Shepard Tribal Butt Dance.  If you have a tailless dog you know what I’m talking about.  For those of you who don’t, the best way I can describe it is a full body shimmy with what I can only think of as a huge puppy grin.  It reminded me that the best way to wake up is with laughter and that sometimes if you shimmy hard enough, you fall over.  I love my dog and he’s nearly perfect but he would truly amazing if he could just learn to make coffee.  He’s perfected the art of eating coffee, knocking over the cup with coffee in it and one morning, he dropped the remote control into one of my bucket sized coffee mugs but he’s never managed to actually brew a pot.

I know there’s a Starbuck’s in the neighborhood (actually two, big surprise) but I can never bring myself to support the corporate machine.  I also know that walking to Starbucks does not burn all the calories that you ingest at Starbucks (even if you have a puppy dragging you most of the way).  I decided to avoid the walking all together and go straight for the calories.  OK so a little heavy cream, I just figure I’m revving up my metabolism…..yeah right.

This one doesn’t require a cappuccino maker, primarily because I have one but don’t really care to find the instruction manual.  A hand held blender does the same thing without the gratifying “shhoooooooosh” but you can’t have everything.  I’m qualified as a coffee expert because I used to work as a Barista….but not at Starbucks.

Creamy Coffee Recipe (Grande, Vinte, or Vinnie….never could get those sizes right)

1 cup of strong coffee or 2 shots of espresso (for an additional punch add a teaspoon of cinnamon and nutmeg to the ground coffee before brewing)

1/3 cup heavy cream

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1 pinch of ground cloves

3 tbsp Agave nectar or honey (adjust to taste)

1 tsp shaved dark chocolate

Combine cream, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and 1 1/2 tbsp of Agave nectar.  Blend with handheld blender until foamy but not stiff.  Pour half into the bottom of a coffee cup and add liquid coffee or espresso.  Stir until a light brown consistency.  Top with the rest of the cream mixture and garnish with dark chocolate shavings.

Put your feet up and enjoy or surprise someone you love who is being lazy and still sleeping in instead of unclogging the drain in the shower that he plugged up with his manly, chest hair!  I have plans to loose the hound on him so that he too can enjoy the Australian Shepard Butt Dance, which often includes a tongue bath.  Maybe he’ll forgive me if I have a cup of this waiting for him….and who knows might motivate him as well.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment