Sweet and Spicy Wasabi Salmon

Sometimes the simplest dinners are the best and tonight’s was no exception. I had purchased the back end of a farmed Atlantic Salmon from Cotsco a few days earlier. Similar to the horse’s ass, this piece included the tail, which I cut off, grateful that I hadn’t purchased the front end. I hate when something I plan to eat looks directly at me.

Normally, I avoid farmed fish, but The Monterey Bay Aquarium Seafood Watch had this posted to their website and the gentleman in the fish department at Cotsco assured me that their’s were raised in inland tanks.

SALMON, FARMED INCLUDING ATLANTIC

There are many environmental problems related to farming salmon, which means most are ranked “Avoid.” However, efforts to reduce some of these environmental impacts by raising fish in inland tanks have been successful. Salmon from these farms are a “Best Choice.”

This recipe can be made with a half of a fish, as I used tonight, with fillets or with salmon steaks.

From start to finish the active time involved in this recipe is no more than 5 minutes, which is about how much time most of us have at this time of year.

Ingredients:

Salmon

1 clove garlic

1 inch piece of fresh ginger

2 tsp Soy Sauce

1/4 tsp Chili Paste

1 Tbsp Sesame Oil

1 Tsp Mirin

1 Tbsp Peanut Oil

1/4- 1/3 cup Wasabi Mayonnaise (May use Mayonnaise mixed with Prepared Wasabi)

Preparation:

Preheat Oven to 350 (if you have Convection use it)

Crush garlic in a Garlic Press into a small bowl. Crush ginger into the same bowl. Add Soy Sauce, Chili Paste, Sesame Oil, Mirin and Peanut Oil into the same bowl and whisk all ingredients together well.

Place your fish in an ovenproof ceramic dish and pour marinade over the top. Let it sit 20 minutes to an hour.

When fish is finished marinating add Wasabi Mayonnaise to the top of the fish.  Depending on the size of your fish and the amount of coating you like, you may use anywhere from the 1/4 cup I used to 1/3 cup.

Bake for about 20-25 minutes.

I served our salmon with Cauliflower which I tossed with a couple of Tbsp of EVO and about 1 Tbsp Garam Masala and Sea Salt. I roasted the cauliflower for about 35 minutes. If you have been following this blog, by now you know that I think Garam Masala goes with everything. Trust me when I tell you it is wonderful on cauliflower and a great accompaniment to this Asian influenced salmon.

I hope you enjoy this as much as we did. Bon Apetit!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

