The Chimichurri Steak Recipe I stalked Emerson for a month for!

As you may recall I returned from our Thanksgiving sojourn to Lake Tahoe raving about a young chef, Emerson Bamaca, boyfriend of Sammie, daughter of our hosts Betsy and Steve. You following?

At first I thought Sammie had fallen in love with this man because he is adorable and sweet, but then after seeing “M” in action in the kitchen, I discovered one more factor that certainly must have influenced her stomach to join her heart: this man can cook!

After stalking both of them for a month, Sammie finally sent me M’s recipe for Chimichurri Steak, which you simply must try. Emerson served these as an appetizer, sliced really thin on a diagonal and then eased onto skewers, making them great finger food. You could also pile a slice atop thinly sliced baguette if you prefer. Or, for those who, like me, find this recipe the bomb, you could just serve this as a steak dinner for two!

Ingredients:

2 Boneless Rib Eye Steaks, 1 ½ inches thick

½ bunch Chopped Parsley

½ bunch Chopped Cilantro

1 clove Garlic, chopped

1 Shallot, chopped

½ Red Onion, sliced

3 Tbsp Soy Sauce

2 Tbsp Garlic Powder

3 Tbsp EVO

1 Tbsp Kosher Salt

1 TbspCayenne

1 Lemon, juiced

¼ cup Water

Preparation:

Place the steaks in a Zip Lock Bag. I always pierce my meat with a two pronged fork before marinating to insure that the juices permeate the meat.

Mix all other ingredients and pour into Zip Lock Bag with the steak. Marinate at least a couple of hours in the refrigerator. In my world this could be done a day or even two ahead, as I could not get too much of the intense flavor of this delicious marinade.

Remove the steak after marinating and leave it out for 5 minutes.

Pan sear or grill over medium heat with a little EVO in the pan. Cook 5-6 minutes per side for medium rare; a little longer if you want to kill the poor beef!

Slice, serve and enjoy!

P.S. I apologize for not having a photo of the steak skewered and plated, but there were a lot of people there and I think I just rushed to insure that I got to eat some before they were all devoured!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. DeLys

     /  December 21, 2011

    We were totally privileged last weekend, to be graced by the presence of Margo’s most wonderful Salmon Mousse… It was an absolutely fabulous addition to our selection of appetizers that we offered for our friend’s birthday party. It was especially good when spread on rice crackers! Thank you for sharing! Happy Holidays and Bon Appetite!
    ~ DeLys

    Reply
  2. Hello I have to say for that absorbing information.I will be bookmarking your website for future updates.good luck with the great materialwebsite.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

