Creamy Salmon Mousse

I have to admit that I’m starting to love mousse.  It’s quick, easy and definitely a crowd pleaser.  After the last post about the Smoked Turkey Mousse, I felt the overwhelming urge to dive in and make some salmon mousse.

Not to be outdone by Jill, I started with a wonderful salmon mousse recipe but had to tinker with it because smoked salmon is one of my favorite flavors (might have been a polar bear in a past life).  Here is my result, which has a lot of strong flavors but I absolutely love it when the fish rears up off the cracker and slaps you in the face with it’s tail (metaphorically, of course).

 

Creamy Salmon Mousse

6 oz smoked salmon

8 oz cream cheese

1 Tbsp heavy cream

2 Tbsp capers

2 Tbsp lemon juice

1/2 Tbsp wasabi

1 small shallot chopped

Blend salmon, cream cheese and cream in a food processor until blended and creamy.  Add capers, lemon juice, wasabi and shallot and blend until smooth.

Serve with crackers and crudites.

Stay tuned, you never know what else might be hanging around my kitchen that’s mousse worthy.  Plus I just can’t seem to get enough of my new pastry bag.

I would love to hear about your version of this recipe!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

