Slow Roasted Prime Rib served with Brussel Sprouts roasted win Truffle Oil & Lemon and Popovers


Our friends Randy and Victoria were coming over for a long overdue dinner last night. Randy is the owner of HiTech Appliance , the showroom I go to when I want to drool over the latest and the greatest in kitchen appliances, outdoor kitchens, and tantalizing brick pizza ovens. A girl can dream, right?

Anyway, I got my beloved Electrolux Oven from Hi Tech and so I decided to put it to good use in preparing our dinner. I also wanted to prepare a dinner which would allow me the luxury of enjoying my guests and not have me in the kitchen much after their arrival.

Margo and I had made our appetizer the day before, so my Smoked Turkey Mousse was already refrigerated and ready to be unmolded onto a plate and surrounded with thin slices of crusty French bread. The Butternut Squash, Pear and Pama Soup  I had whipped up the day before made a lovely starter and required nothing other than reheating.

For our “playdate” in Margo’s kitchen the other day we had also made a rich and delicious desert of Almond Meringues filled with a Grand Marnier/Chocolate Mousse. It is my sincere hope to post this recipe at a later date when I master the technique of making them look as lovely as they tasted!

Certainly if we had thought to make a video recording of our adventure it would have been amusing, if not in the manner we desire. As I attempted to pipe the meringue onto a baking sheet, a tad bit did actually come out of the plain tip on the end of the pastry bag. Sadly, far more came out of the large opening at the top of the bag and all over my hands. Having licked them clean, I arrived home quite nauseous and probably a couple of pounds heavier. As I have always conceded, a baker I am not.

The only thing left to make was the actual dinner itself! I had purchased a Bone-In Prime Rib for the occasion and I took it out of the refrigerator early in the day to warm to room temperature. I then rubbed it well with Sea Salt and Freshly Ground Pepper.

My roast included 2 ribs and weighed in at a tad over 4 pounds. I had decided to slow roast it and for medium-rare the cooking time would be 45 minutes per pound, so I began my prep at about 4p, as I planned to serve dinner around 815p.

Slow roasting makes a delicious Prime Rib. The meat comes out quite uniform in color, so you will want to sear the outside of your roast on the stove top prior to putting it in your oven. I have seen recipes that suggest heating EVO to do this, but I think the meat sears just as well in its own fat. I simply heated a large Calphlon over medium high heat until it was quite hot and then began my sear with the fatty top of my roast.

Once the meat was seared on all sides (with the exception of the cut sides), I rubbed two generous Tbsps of fresh Horseradish Root, which I had chopped to a fine powder into the top and sides of my roast. Next, I did the same with 10 garlic cloves, which I had first smashed with my meat mallet. I took pieces of the garlic and stuffed them into the crevices between the meat and the fat, as well as piling much of them on the top of my roast. I followed the garlic with fresh Thyme and Rosemary, pressing leaves into the meat and piling whole springs on the top.

I placed my Rib Roast on a rack in a roasting pan and surrounded it with whole Baby Bella Mushrooms, small Onions, Carrots and Potatoes. One thing I did not do, which I will do in the future is to add about ½ cup red wine to the pan. I used the Convection Roast setting on my oven, which I had preheated to 175. If you are not using convection, your oven should be preheated to 200.

The reason I suggest the wine, is that my roast retained all of its juices, which caused my carrots to come out dehydrated, yet tasty. Adding a bit of wine will give you some Au Jus for your meat, something my guests and I had to live without.

In the adage of “Waste Not, Want Not”, I used the fat from the pan I seared the meat in to coat a muffin tin, to be used to bake Popovers.

Ingredients:

2 Eggs

1 Cup Flour

¼ cup pan drippings from the roast

1 Cup Whole Milk

S&P

Preparation:

Whisk the eggs, add milk and finally, the flour and S&P. Put aside until roast is finished to add the drippings.

Apply fat from searing pan in a thin layer to muffin tins with a basting brush.

Preheat oven to 400 about 15 minutes before your roast will be ready.

When roast is done, remove from oven, suck out pan drippings with a basting bulb and add to your batter. Pour mixed batter into muffin tins to fill completely. Your Popovers with do just that: pop over the top of each compartment!

For a vegetable, I made a simple roasted Brussel Sprouts. I cut each Brussel Sprout in half and put them in a roasting vessel. I used a lovely boast shaped white oven proof dish that could go right on the table. I tossed my Brussels with a couple of Tbsp Black Truffle Oil, Sea Salt and the juice of ¼ Lemon and then roasted them at 350 for about 30 minutes.

The timing went like this:

1)      Cook roast for 3 hours. Remove from oven. Reduce heat on that oven to warm.

2)      Cook Brussel Sprouts at the 2 ½ hour mark and move them into the oven you just took the roast out of to keep warm.

3)      Increase heat on the oven the Brussel Sprouts came out of to 400. This should only take a few minutes to go from 350 to 400.

4)      Put Popovers in the 400 oven for about 15 minutes with the Roasting Potatoes you removed with the roast. This will make the skin crisp and delicious.

5)      About 5 minutes before the Popovers are done, carve the meat.

Bon Apetit!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Thanks for that. Great information.

    Reply
  2. I am bookmarking you for future reference.

    Reply
  3. Hi I have to say for this absorbing information.I am now bookmarking your website for future research.continue this interesting site.

    Reply
  4. Hello a really big for giving Great information.I will be bookmarking your page for future research.continue this great work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

