Rack of Pork Roasted with Herbs, Vegetables and Potatoes


As of late I have been noticing a number of recipes for a Rack of Pork. I had never heard of this cut, but I love Rack of Lamb, so I found myself intrigued. While surveying the offerings at the Cotsco Meat Counter today, I decided to pick one up and give it a try.

In reading about the cut online, I discovered that it is simply a Pork Loin Roast, with the bones. Rave reviews described it as being infinitely more tasty and succulent than a traditional Pork Loin Roast, which can often be dry and bland. The more I read, the more excited I became to give this a try.

I actually cut my rack into three as it is only the Brit and I for dinner tonight. I do want to make something special for him, as this is his last night of teaching for this semester, so it is a call for a celebration of sorts. Anyway, I gave Margo one of the three Racks after self butchering, and I am anxiously awaiting her rendition of said Rack of Pork.

I began mine with a marinade:

Marinade Ingredients:


Whisk together:

1/3 cup Zinfandel Wine Vinegar

1 TbspDijon

¼ cup EVO

1 tsp Wildflower honey

1 sprig fresh Rosemary, pulled apart

1 sprig fresh, Thyme, pulled apart

Put the Rack of Pork in a Freezer Bag with the marinade and marinade at least 3 hours.

Vegetables & Potatoes:


You can really use any vegetables you think will roast well: Brussel Sprouts, Turnips, Fennel, Acorn Squash, Zucchini, etc. I also think Fingerling Potatoes would be fun and the multi-colored ones very pretty. I used Yukon Gold because I previously purchased a lifetime supply at Cotsco!

2 Potatoes, quartered

1 Parsnip, peeled and cut into 3-4 inch pieces

2 Carrots, peeled and cut into 3-4 inch pieces

¼ Butternut Squash, peeled and cut into 3-4 in cubes

2 Beets, peeled

4PearlOnions

4 Baby Bella Mushrooms (again, these are a staple in my kitchen and I get a large basket each trip to Cotsco)

Preparation:


Preheat oven to 450. I used convection roast.

Toss the vegetables and potatoes with 1-2 Tbsp EVO, Sea Salt, Pepper, Fresh Thyme, Rosemary and fresh, shredded Sage leaves in the bottom of a small roasting pan.

Place the marinated Rack of Pork on top of the vegetables and potatoes. Set aside the bag with the marinade.

Finely chop 4-5 cloves of garlic and a 4 inch piece of peeled, fresh horseradish. Press this into the pork, both on top and on the sides. Some of this will fall off into the vegetables; this is ok.

Put roasting pan in oven and immediately turn oven down to 350. Roast for about an hour or until the internal temperature is 145. Remove from oven, transfer meat to a cutting board and allow it to rest for 5 minutes. Remove vegetables and potatoes to a serving bowl and place roasting pan on stove top over medium heat. Deglaze pan juices with the marinade and reduce marinade by half. In a small saucepan, make a roux with 1 tbsp butter and 1 ½-2 tbsp flour. Add to reduced marinade and serve over meat.

So, everything they say about this cut of meat is true. The pork was flavorful, tender and moist. I like pork anyway, but I know I will lean towards a Rack of Pork from now on, in lieu of a boneless tenderloin. Yes, it is more fatty, but it is not terribly fatty and I would easily trade my portion of potatoes to enjoy this tasty treat.

As for the Brit….

Well, if the clean plate doesn’t say it all, I will quote him. “Probably the 5th greatest meal you have ever made me.” Considering I have cooked for him most nights for two years now, I’d say that’s pretty darn good!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

