Fennel Gratin

Two things conspired to make me create this vegetable tonight. First of all, I thought the Turnip and Leak Gratin I made Sunday night was delicious and secondly, I am running quite low on food in my fridge and a fennel bulb was one of the lone inhabitants of my vegetable drawer.

As I have already conceded, I hate wasting food and alongside the fennel bulb was a tiny bag containing a small piece of fresh horseradish. Additionally, I had one lone egg left in the box, so I added the yolk to the sauce and cooked the white part for my dog Mack to enjoy with his kibble.

How well will the horseradish, fennel, garlic and truffle oil work together? Well, Colin and I will see in about half an hour and if you are reading this you can assume that the answer is quite well!


Ingredients:

1 Fennel Bulb, sliced

1 egg yolk

2 Tbsp Butter

¼ cup Half and Half

¼ cup plus 2 Tbsp Freshly Grated Parmesan, divided

2 Tbsp Panko

2 Garlic Cloves, finely chopped

¼ in slice Fresh Horseradish, finely chopped

1 Tbsp Truffle Oil

S&P

Preparation:

 

Cook fennel in boiling water until crispy, tender. About 7 minutes. Drain and place in a small Gratin Dish. Toss with Truffle Oil. Season with S&P.

In a small saucepan melt butter over medium/low heat and add garlic and horseradish. Cook until just starting to brown. Whisk in egg yolk and half and half over heat. This will thicken rather quickly. Remove from heat and add ¼ cup parmesan, stirring to combine. Pour over fennel.

Sprinkle with remaining parmesan, panko and some of the fennel fonds, cut with scissors, to add color.

Bake for 40 minutes.

P.S. It worked!! The end result was absolutely delicious. The only change I would make is to double the recipe and serve it as the main dish rather than a side. BTW, the one fennel bulb worked well as a side dish for two, but if making it for more multiply proportionately.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Mainly desired to write and enquire where you got your theme? I’m seeking for one for my new site and really like yours. Many thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

