I’m in love with David Lebovitz! Join me for Celebratory Banana Beet Brownies.

I think I have a crush on David Lebovitz! I was touring cyberspace this morning and somehow came upon my paramour’s site; much in the same way I used to drive by a crushes house in what I wish I could call my very early years.

I have always loved beets. I have loved every beet I have ever met. I love Baby Beets and the big fat ones. I love deep crimsony, purple beets and I love the majestic golden ones as well. I like beets in salads, roasted, boiled, and eaten raw as a fine julienne and I like Borscht. So when my eyes rested on a post on his blog extolling the virtues of a Moist Chocolate-Beet Cake, I clicked on over and voraciously dug into his post.

I was still miles away from the recipe when I read this:

“…there are hundreds of thousands of chocolate cake recipes that you can find using a search engine. But to me, that’s not enough. When I want to spend my precious time and funds making something to eat, I don’t want to merely find a recipe. There’s nothing compelling about a downloadable list of ingredients. It just leaves me cold. I want the author or writer to tell me about the recipe, what inspired them to create it, or how it came about.

I want to know why someone chose that recipe, what twists they gave it, what made the cake or casserole they were making so special to them that they wanted to share it. Was it an unusual ingredient? Did they like the description they read of it elsewhere? Were they inquisitive about how a root vegetable from their garden could make its way into a chocolate cake?”

Well, I choose this recipe because it inspires my creativity, it gives me courage to push the envelope farther with my concoctions- something Margo does often, but me, not so much.

I choose to continue to do my David Lebovitz drive-by because he inspires me to treat visitors to this blog as I would guests in my home: to tell you stories, to make you laugh and have a good time and to remember me fondly as the friend who always cooks something fabulous for you and does it with love.

Banana Beet Brownies

 

Ingredients:

3 fresh beets, boiled until fork tender, then peeled and quartered

¼ cup Butter

1/3 cup Coconut Oil

1 cup Chocolate Chips (Your brownies will undoubtedly be better if you use a good, dark chocolate (around 70& Cacao, but this stuff doesn’t last in my house, so I used the Nestles Semi Sweet chips that I had.)

4 eggs

½ Banana

1 Tbsp Vanilla

½ c Brown Sugar, packed

½ c White Sugar

¾ c Flour

½ c Dark Cocoa Powder

1 tsp Baking Powder

½ tsp Kosher Salt

1 tsp Ground Cinnamon

½ tsp Ground Nutmeg

¼ c finely chopped Almonds (left over from Leek and Turnip Gratin)

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 350

Melt butter, coconut oil and chocolate chips in small saucepan, stirring with a wooden spoon to blend. Allow to cool while you do the next steps.

Puree beets in Food Processor using knife blade.

Beat eggs to a froth with an Electric Beater, then add to beets in the Food Processor. Add ½ banana.

Beets with egg & banana. Just look at this color!

Add cooled chocolate mixture, vanilla and both sugars.

In a large bowl, whisk flour, cocoa powder, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg together. Fold in wet ingredients.

Mix in almonds.

Pour into a baking dish sprayed with Bakers Joy (oil w flour)

Bake about 30-40 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Enjoy!!

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

