Sassy, Citrusy Barbecue Sauce

Still snowy outside and I think that now is a good time to post that sauce that Jill mentioned in an earlier post.  I gave it a lot of thought and considered what I wanted in a barbecue sauce.  My opinion is that it should roll across your tongue.  It should start by being sweet and demure and then do a sensual citrusy dance to the back of your mouth.  Before it rolls down your throat, it should give the back of your tongue a nice spicy stab, just my view of the matter.  In keeping with that, I decided to go to my favorite playground….my kitchen and work off some excess energy.  What I came up with is, in my humble opinion will do justice to whatever dish it’s added to.  Maybe not  Duck a l’Orange (as a matter fact, I take no responsibility if you do and chocolate cake is definitely out) but it will add a nice backdrop to sausages, burgers a rack of ribs or tofu.

Sassy, Citrusy Barbecue Sauce

1/2 sweet onion

3 cloves garlic

2 Tsp fresh grated ginger

1 cup pomegranate juice

2 Tbs molasses

1/2 teaspoon Sriracha

3 teaspoons hot sauce

2 teaspoons mustard

1 tsp balsamic vinegar

1tsp white vinegar

2/3 cup water

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

1/2 cup tomato catsup

1 cup pureed tomatoes (no added sugar)

2-3 teaspoons salt

1-2 Tbs liquid smoke

2 Tbs fresh squeezed orange juice

Juice from 2 limes

Puree onion, garlic, and ginger.  Heat pan to medium and add pomegranate juice and onion mixture and allow to cook for https://saucycooks.wordpress.com/2011/12/03/our-million-dollar-sauces-we-need-your-help/ 3 minutes or until onions and garlic no longer taste raw.

Set burner to low and add molasses, Sriracha, hot sauce, mustard and vinegars and allow to simmer for about 10 minutes, stirring frequently.

Add water, catsup, and pureed tomato and let simmer for about 15 minutes, stirring about 4 times during the process.

Add salt and cayenne pepper to taste.

Stir in orange juice, lime juice and liquid smoke and allow to simmer for another 10 to 15 minutes, stirring as needed.

If you need some ribs to go with this, check Jill’s saucy blog post

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Janie

     /  December 7, 2011

    Sounds yummy! What kind of “hot sauce” would you recommend?

    Reply
    • Can’t speak for Margo, but I love Cholula Hot Sauce Chili Garlic. Even though I just said I would not speak for her, I will tell you that she has a love affair going with Sriracha, but when she brought me a taste of her sauce Sunday evening, I found the Sriracha taste over powering, so she went back to the drawing board and mixed it with her “Mystery Hot Sauce!”

      Reply

Leave a Reply

