On the Horns of a Dilema?…Choose Cake!

Mom's B-day cake

OK I know, I’m supposed to be posting the world’s greatest sauce and yes, it is made and sitting in my fridge waiting to grace some citrus roasted ribs (or citrus grilled tofu for all you vegs out there, my taste tester is an unwavering carnivore).  The tang of the citrus and the sweetness of the sauce will make you forget to put on pants when you leave the house….yes the combo is that good!

However, today is my Mom’s birthday so stay tuned for the other.  I decided to offer up a carrot cake because that’s her favorite but not just any carrot cake, this one had to take her back to the farm were she grew up and make her feel twelve again.  No small feat because she’s….well not a spring chicken (for the sake of staying alive, let’s leave it at that).

I wanted to do something rustic, with enough sweetness to highlight the other flavors but not overpower them.  You know, crunchy, chewy and cakey all packed into a sinfully delicious format.  Here’s what I came up with and I must admit….I’m pretty proud of myself.

Carrot Cake

4 eggs

1 1/4 cup of Grape Seed Oil (or any oil you like, coconut oil would be great but I’m out)

1 1/4 cup of Agave Necter

2 Tbs Molasses

2 teaspoons vanilla

2 cups of all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

3 teaspoons cinnamon

generous pinch of ground clove

3 Tablespoons grated ginger (fresh)

1 1/2 cup grated carrot

juice of 1/2 a lime

1 1/2 cup grated apple

2/3 cup of pecans (chopped)

3/4 cup of golden raisins (preferably chopped)

Heat oven to 350 degrees and prepare a

Beat eggs, oil, agave, molasses and vanilla together until smooth.  Add flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and all spices and fold into the mixture until you have a lovely smooth caramel colored batter.

In a separate bowl, mix ginger, carrot, apple and lime and mix.  Add pecans and raisins and mix again making sure that everything is well mixed.  Fold into the egg, oil etc. mixture and stir well.

Cream Cheese Frosting

2 (8 oz.) packages of cream cheese, softened

1/2 cup unsalted butter softened

1/4 cup heavy cream

1 1/2 cup of confectioners’ sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon ground ginger

Cream butter, cream cheese and heavy cream together in a medium bowl.  Mix in vanilla and then gradually stir in confectioner’s sugar and ginger.  Whip with hand blender until desired consistency.

I actually took a little frosting and added just enough chlorophyll to give it some green color.   My mother thinks that food coloring is unhealthy and unnatural so luckily I was able to substitute something from the health food store.  Far as I know, food coloring is completely safe and will not make you glow in he dark, so feel free to get creative with it.  Buon appetito (I just love Italian)!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

