Our Million Dollar Sauces? We need your help!

So, yesterday while the snow fell and we were hunkering down in our own toasty abodes, working on this blog none-the-less, Margo called all excited about a cooking contest where we can win $1m in royalties. This sounds very appealing to me and would definitely help give us a great answer when asked “What is the purpose of your blog?”

The contest just specifies sauce but Margo had mentioned creating recipes for Barbeque Sauce and I needed to cook those ribs I took out of the freezer yesterday anyway.

Somehow we ended up creating our own, internal, SaucyCooks contest and this is where you, the reader, comes in. Oh, it won’t be quite as easy as just reading. What we are hoping is that you will actually try and make our recipes and (a) tell us which one you prefer and (b) if you have any ideas as to how to improve our sauces. Naturally, you are welcome to create your own sauce and compete right along with us for the $1m prize. All we ask is that if you do win you take us somewhere really schwanky for dinner!

Because we are asking you to make both my recipe below and Margo’s recipe, which will follow shortly, the recipe is for a small batch. This amount was more than ample to make my ribs with more than half left over for another use.

 Not for Babies BBQ Sauce

1 Tbslp Canola/Grapeseed/Olive Oil Blend

1 small Onion, plus 3 cloves Garlic, grated in Food Processor

1 finely chopped Serrano Pepper, seeds included

¾ c Organic Catsup

1/8 c Tia Maria

1 tsp Worcestershire Sauce

1 tspDijonMustard

1 ½ Tbsp Wildflower Honey

1 Tbsp Molasses

1 tsp Cider Vinegar

1 Tbsp Maple Syrup

1 tsp SmokedApplewoodSeaSalt

1 Bay Leaf

1 Star Anise Pod

½ tsp Oregano

¼ tsp Cayenne Pepper

¼ tsp Chili Powder

½ tsp Tumeric

1 cup Water

Heat oil in saucepan and add Serrano, Onion and Garlic. Cook 3-5 minutes until soft.

Add the rest of the ingredients, with the exception of the water and cook over medium heat for about 5 minutes. Now add the water, stir it in and allow to cook down over low heat for at least 30 minutes (I cooked mine for 2 hours).

If you are interested, I cooked my rack of Baby Rack Ribs, on a rack for 7 hours at 175 convection. I rubbed them with some spicy salt, comprised of dried Chipolte, Sea Salt, Smoked Paprika and a touch of dried Thyme, before tossing them into the oven.

About 90 minutes before serving I basted them with the above BBQ Sauce about once every twenty minutes. Just before removing them from the oven I gave them one more brush with the sauce and turned up the oven to broil. It was only about 5 minutes until they looked like the picture above. I served them with diced potatoes, tossed with Black Truffle Oil, Fresh Sage strips and Sea Salt and then roasted to a golden brown. Our vegetable was Organic Baby Spinach cooked in 1 Tbsp. EVO in which I had already browned 4 cloves of garlic, slivered. After I added the spinach I sprinkled it with 1/2 tsp grated fresh Lemon Zest and Sea Salt. If we hadn’t gobbled it all up so fast I would have included a picture!

Footnote: The Brit says this was hitting his threshold for heat, so let the buyer beware!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. After study a few of the blog posts on your website now, and I truly like your way of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon. Pls check out my web site as well and let me know what you think.

    Reply
  1. Sassy, Citrusy Barbecue Sauce « SaucyCooks

Leave a Reply

