2 Bean Chili

If you’re tired of turkey, here’s your reprieve.  I wanted something that was healthy, that I could make a lot of and that would store or freeze well.  Ok so I’m still feeling the tryptophan from the turkey or maybe I’m turning into a bear but my main goal this week is to not spend all my free time hibernating on the couch.  I realize, however, that if I don’t have healthy pre-made food in the house, I will be living on a diet of chocolate chips and peanut butter, with some cheese crackers thrown in to make it more gourmet.  Yes, my life can be a little unattractive sometimes.

This chili is rich, satisfying and other than simmering for a while, isn’t labor intensive.  Plus it’s high in fiber, magnesium, potassium and a lot of other iums that I can’t pronounce but will apparently make me ready for a spring marathon when I finally emerge from my cave.

I sometimes do a vegetarian version using Seitan (not to be confused with the guy in a red suit carrying a pitch fork) and taco seasoning, instead of meat, which seems to satisfy the most hard-core carnivore.   Well worth a break in my hibernation cycle.

2 Bean Chili

1 tbs olive oil

1/2 Sweet Onion

3 cloves minced garlic

2 4 oz cans of mild green chilies (medium or hot if you are adventurous)

2 Tbps Worcestershire (omit for Vegetarian version)

1 Tbs Soy Sauce

1 lb low fat ground beef (ground turkey or Seitan if you want to go lighter)

1 can diced tomatoes undrained

1 can chili beans undrained

1 can kidney beans drained

1/4 cup molasses

1 tsp balsamic vinegar

1/2 cup chicken stock (or Veggie Stock)

1 tsp turmeric

1/2 tsp ground coriander

1 Tbs chili powder

S&P to taste

In a large skillet add chopped onion and garlic and heat in olive oil until soft.  Add green chilies and stir.  Add ground turkey and mix with onions, garlic and chilies until meat is browned.  Add tomatoes, Worcestershire Sauce and soy sauce and mix together.

Transfer to crockpot or large cooking pot and let simmer on low.  Add beans, molasses, chicken stock, turmeric, coriander, chili powder and S&P and allow cook for 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes.

Serve with crackers or top with some shredded cheddar cheese.  Also works well with football, basketball or a good chick flick!

Update:  My avocado green, 1970’s Crockpot died after many years of good service.  Funeral arrangements are being made and a moment of silence will be observed this week on Thursday night when I’m supposed to make a stew.  Donations towards a new Crockpot will not be rejected.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Julie Stoffel

     /  November 30, 2011

    I’m going to give this a try. Is there an easy way to print your recipes from the blog site?

    Reply
    • We’re working on this, but in the meantime there are two ways. One is to subscribe to our blog which will then send you an email each time a new recipe is posted with just that recipe. The other is to copy and paste the recipe into a word doc.

      Thanks for your continued support and we would love to know how our recipes work for you.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

