Moist Mango Meatloaf

One thing that I pride myself on is my ability to cook. I know I am a great cook, as I get a tremendous amount of feedback, in the way of praise, from EVERYONE I cook for, with the exception of my husband. The Brit and I have been married just under two years now and his lack of enthusiasm for the meals I lovingly create for him has made me keenly aware of the fact that marriage is about thinking about your partner, in every way, including menu preparation!

When I have asked Colin how he feels about my cooking, he tells me that if he has eaten all the food on his plate then that is a good indicator that he liked the meal. I attributed this at first to his being British, but now I know that this is not so. I lean towards Pescatarian, with a small amount of poultry thrown in for good measure, but it appears that my husband is a carnivore. It is not that he dislikes fish or chicken, he just LOVES MEAT!!

My decision not to eat meat has never been a moral one, but rather one of health. I actually enjoy beef occasionally and by using organic, grass fed beef (http://www.dakotabeefcompany.com/) I created an area of compromise in my relationship! Last night I made an adulterated version of Amy Reilly’s “Moist Mango Meatloaf” from her cookbook “Fork Me,SpoonMe.”

( http://www.amazon.com/Fork-Me-Spoon-sensual-cookbook/dp/0977412008 )

Not only did the reserved Brit groan and exclaim “Well done” between every third bite, but he woke up this morning extolling the virtues of last night’s dinner!

Here is my Adulterated Version of Amy’s Moist Mango Meatloaf:

Ingredients:

2 lbs Dakota Organic Grass-Fed Beef (available at Cotsco)

2 tsp salt

2 tsp Green Curry Paste (available locally in Denver at H-Mart)

2 eggs

1 yellow onion, chopped

2 Tblsp Golden Plum Sauce, plus a little more to glaze loaves

1 mango, peeled and diced

¼ cup Panko Bread Crumbs (Japanese Bread 

 


 

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Beat eggs with Green Curry Paste and Golden Plum Sauce

Mix meat into Egg Mixture to blend, then stir in Onion, Panko and Mango. Mix thoroughly with hands and then fill loaf pans with meatloaf.

Brush with Golden Plum Sauce.

Refrigerate for at least an hour before baking for one hour.

You can vary the amount of Green Curry Paste depending on your affinity for heat. I love spicy foods and Colin really enjoyed this, however, he mentioned it was at his outside comfort line for heat!

I paired the meatloaf with a Simple Roasted Cauliflower:

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Cut a head of cauliflower into 1/8th chunks and place on baking sheet. Drizzle with Olive Oil, sprinkle with Kosher Salt, Freshly Ground Pepper, and Oregano. Sprinkle with bread crumbs (I used the Panko because they were already out, but you could use Seasoned Bread Crumbs, or evenRye would be nice) and Grated Parmesan Cheese. Drizzle a tad bit more Olive Oil over the bread crumbs and cheese. Roast for about 40 minutes.

Bon Apetit! If you do try this recipe, please write back and let me know how you like it. Thanks!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

