Spicy Pumpkin Soup

Spicy Pumpkin Soup and decorative gourds

Ok, so I promise that this is the last of the pureed pumpkin I roasted last week! And yes, I did give the dogs chucks of freshly roasted pumpkin last night mixed in with their food. They loved it and so will you.

As my BFF Betsy and I prepare our holiday menu I am beginning to have trepidations that perhaps Southwest will not allow me to board my return flight home due to weight restrictions. Although we are including some healthy and delicious sides, such as Roasted Brussel Sprouts and my now infamous Spicy Pumpkin Stew, I am well aware that I will be consuming close to a weeks worth of fat and calories in a day. It is for this reason that I am trying to fill this weekend with healthy, lean foods such as this hearty soup made with vegetables, chicken broth and yogurt.

I will warn you that when I say spicy you should take me at my word. I like heat. That said, the Brit can only take so much and if you lean more towards his taste, I suggest that you reduce the Chipotle to a generous dash.

Spicy Pumpkin Soup Recipe

Ingredients:

1 inch piece of Ginger, finely chopped
½ medium Onion, finely chopped (a sweet Vidalia is best, but any onion, but red, will do)
2 Carrots, peeled and sliced
1 rib Celery, sliced
1 small Parsnip, sliced
2 cups pureed roast Pumpkin
1 ½ Tblsp EVO
2 cans low sodium Chicken Broth
½ cup non fat, plain Yogurt
¼ tsp ground Chipotle
¼ tsp dried Thyme
¼ tsp Smoked Paprika
1 Cinnamon Stick
Salt to taste
1 tsp Brown Sugar

Preparation:
Active Prep Time is about 15-20 minutes. From start to bowl will run 1 hr 20 minutes

Heat EVO in small stockpot over medium heat. Add ginger, stir and cook for about a minute then add onion and sauté for an additional minute.

Add carrot, celery, parsnip and spices. Cook for an additional 3-4 minutes, stirring often.

Add pumpkin and chicken broth. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to low and simmer for about an hour.
Put contents of stock pot in a food processor and process to make a smooth soup. You may have to do this is batches.

Return soup to pot, add yogurt and brown sugar and mix with whisk to incorporate.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

