TDF Chocolate Zucchini Bread

I am not a gardener. Oh, I would like to be a gardener and reap the benefit of delicious fresh vegetables plucked from their stems and thrown into my pan, but alas my many attempts at gardening have been ill-fated.

When my first husband and I purchased our first home way out in the country, it was situated on a 2 ½ acre parcel of land. One of the first things we did was to hire a man with a Rototiller to come out and create a large garden plot for us. We proceeded to plant lovely rows of tomatoes, cucumbers, yellow squash, brussel sprouts, zucchini, carrots, beets, watermelon, and herbs. We rimmed our garden with marigolds and it looked divine….that was until the weeds began to grow along side of our sprouting plants and I could not tell which was which!

It took me decades to recover from this failed attempt at becoming a gentlewoman farmer, but a couple of summers ago, having read about the promise of container gardening, I tried again. This time I purchased several large pots, filled them with fresh, fertilized potting soil labeled “For Fruits and Vegetables”, purchased starter plants from a local, reputable nursery and plunked them in my pots.

Our backyard offered these plants full sun and I watered them faithfully and surrounded my tomato plants with tomato cages, so they would be protected and supported. I fed them plant food, again labeled “For Fruits and Vegetables” and then I waited anxiously and dreamed of my Heirloom Tomato masterpieces, my Fresh Roma Tomato Marinara and my spicy Gazpacho that I would craft from my harvest.

That year my container garden yielded 8 tomatoes all season, along with enough basil to make a Pesto and I threw in the towel, or should I say my spade?

This summer I made a new friend. Her name is Pilar and she is a Master Gardener in my mind. She invited me over and showed me her bulging patch, plucking Cherry Tomatoes, Beefsteak Tomatoes, all kinds of spicy peppers and Zucchini the size of Little League Baseball Bats.

Yes, of course I made Ratatouille. I also sliced the Zucchini into rounds, brushed them with EVO mixed with crushed Garlic, sprinkled them with S&P, Panko and Parmesan and stuck them under the broiler.

I also dredged sliced Zucchini in an egg wash, then in a bowl of herbed bread crumbs, fried them up and served them with a reduction of fresh red Fresno Peppers, garlic, fresh Tomatoes, Capers and Balsamic. But the hands down winner of my very own Zucchini Cook Off were this Chocolate Zucchini Bread:

TDF (To Die For) Chocolate Zucchini Bread 

1 ½ cup Shredded Zucchini

1 cup Flour

2 Eggs

½ cup Good Cocoa-I like Dagoba Xocolatl made with dark Chocolate & Chilies

1 tsp Baking Soda

¼ tsp Baking Powder

¼ tsp Salt

1 tsp Cinnamon

½  tsp Allspice

½ cup Coconut Oil

½ cup White Sugar

½ cup Brown Sugar

1 tsp Vanilla

¾ cup Semi Sweet or Dark Chocolate Chips

Preheat Oven to 350 and place rack in center of oven.  Grease a loaf pan.  Whisk flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and allspice in a large bowl.

In a separate bowl, beat eggs, coconut oil, brown and white sugars and vanilla until well blended.

Fold in zucchini.

Add flour mix and mix well.

Add chocolate chips.

Bake 55-60 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Convince yourself that it is really a meal: it has vegetables, protein and healthy dark chocolate…..of course you shouldn’t feel guilty for indulging in a second piece!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Julie Stoffel

     /  November 16, 2011

    Loved your gardening story. I can personally attest to how wonderful this bread is!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

